Why you can’t trust the Belfast Telegraph!

I will with this post deal with the article about my election campaign in today’s Belfast Telegraph, because it is not entirely accurate nor fair to me in every respect.

I want readers to know what I said and what I did not say!

I did not want to discuss rock music in the interview because I had already made my views on that subject known in last year’s interview, and stand by them, with the exception of the comment that I would ban rock music, because I have no recollection of ever calling for it to be banned.

However, the journalist brought the subject up again but this time I declined to name any rock groups. I did mention that rock music is damaging to the hearing and that ENT doctors had said so (remembering a documentary I had watched some years ago.) The journalist failed to mention the doctor’s views on the subject, stating only that I believe a lot of rock music is damaging to the hearing.

In addition, I do not recall saying that Feminism is to blame for the recession. Whilst it is true that Feminism has contributed to our economic ills, I never made such a blanket claim i.e that it is responsible for the recession.

He did not include in his article the other views which I had articulated during the telephone interview, namely, that I would,

Close Marie Stopes Abortion clinic
Oppose the extension of the 1967 Abortion Act to NI
Abolish the Equality Commission and the Human Rights Commission and give the money they receive to the NHS.

The Belfast Telegraph used the photo of me from last year (and a poor copy at that) which makes the article amateurish-looking and gives the impression that it is not to be taken seriously.

The above just goes to show that one must be very wary of the media in general.

2 thoughts on “Why you can’t trust the Belfast Telegraph!

  1. Dear Susan White,

    I am writing to you to request a chat with yourself over email. I would be very keen to hear your views, as Features Editor of the Gown Independent Student Newspaper at Queen’s. Please let me know if you would be happy to exchange a few messages with me – I eagerly await your reply.

    Kind regards,

    Niall Coleman

Leave a Reply

